The World Surf League Championship Tour 2019: Ride the Waves Around the Globe

The World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour 2019 was not just a series of professional surf competitions; it was a thrilling global odyssey showcasing the athletic prowess of the world’s elite surfers. Each unique location brought a new champion, marking unforgettable moments in the annals of surfing history. If you’re a surf fanatic or even a casual wave watcher, take a trip back in time and revisit the champions and the iconic locations of the 2019 tour.

  1. Gold Coast, Australia (April 3 – 13, 2019) The Quiksilver and Boost Mobile Pro Gold Coast commenced the 2019 Championship Tour at the famous Snapper Rocks, Coolangatta. The long right-hand point break set the scene for a resounding victory by Italo Ferreira and Caroline Marks.
  2. Bells Beach, Australia (April 17 – 27, 2019) The legendary Rip Curl Pro at Bells Beach in Victoria saw John John Florence and Courtney Conlogue conquer the impressive swells, earning the right to ring the coveted bell.
  3. Bali, Indonesia (May 13 – 24, 2019) At the Corona Bali Protected in Keramas, Gianyar, Kanoa Igarashi and Stephanie Gilmore expertly rode the powerful right-hander waves to emerge victorious in Bali.
  4. Margaret River, Australia (May 29 – June 9, 2019) Returning to Australia, John John Florence and Lakey Peterson masterfully navigated the challenging conditions of the Margaret River Pro at Surfer’s Point, Western Australia, emerging as champions.
  5. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (June 20 – 28, 2019) The tubular waves of Saquarema during the Oi Rio Pro were expertly navigated by Filipe Toledo and Sally Fitzgibbons, solidifying Brazil’s reputation as a key player in the world of surfing.
  6. Jeffreys Bay, South Africa (July 9 – 22, 2019) The legendary right point break of Jeffreys Bay hosted the Corona Open, where Ethan Ewing and Carissa Moore seized the day with high-scoring rides, crowning them the champions.
  7. Tahiti, French Polynesia (August 21 – September 1, 2019) For the Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o, one of the most challenging breaks globally, Owen Wright and Courtney Conlogue were victorious, taming the heavy, hollow waves that break over a shallow reef.
  8. Lemoore, California, USA (September 19 – 21, 2019) The unique Freshwater Pro at the Surf Ranch in Lemoore saw the mastery of consistently perfect waves by champions Gabriel Medina and Carissa Moore.
  9. Landes, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France (October 3 – 13, 2019) In Hossegor, the powerful beach break waves were the setting for the Quiksilver Pro and Roxy Pro France. Champions Jeremy Flores and Carissa Moore showcased their extraordinary skill on these sand-bottom waves.
  10. Peniche, Portugal (October 16 – 28, 2019) The MEO Rip Curl Pro in Supertubos, Peniche, famous for its potent, hollow waves, was the stage for outstanding performances by champions Italo Ferreira and Caroline Marks.
  11. Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii, USA (December 8 – 20, 2019) Wrapping up the tour at the iconic Billabong Pipe Masters on the North Shore of Oahu, the Pipeline was the final battleground. Italo Ferreira and Stephanie Gilmore mastered the famous and dangerous tube-forming waves, capping off the tour in thrilling style.

The 2019 World Surf League Championship Tour was an exciting journey around the world’s most iconic surf spots, witnessed the crowning of extraordinary champions, and showcased the spirit of surfing in every competition. These unforgettable moments remind us of the electrifying charisma that this sport brings to enthusiasts worldwide.

Scroll to Top